The other side of the table

This conference was my first as a parent and I had high hopes.  I arrived early and reviewed the materials posted, but I left disappointed and wanting more.

Let me back up, my son has spent the last 4 years making me feel like I had the answers to parenthood.  He had a wonderful in-home daycare provider that said she loved him and meant it.  He spent the past 4 years with the same group of loving boys.  In order to be closer to family, I moved my whole family to Iowa before my son entered preschool.

The teacher did an excellent job reviewing the data she collected, showing the work my son had completed and talking about his strengths.  I wish she would have talked more about the areas I needed to help with and had given me the steps to take.  I also wanted to know does he work hard, is he kind and does he have friends.

In addition to feeling sad about my experience, I left feeling that I had caused some of my former parents the same feeling of disappointment.  So to those parents:

  • I am sorry that I did not talk about your student’s work habits.
  • I am sorry that I did not share a moment when your student was kind to another student.
  • I am sorry that I did not talk about the joy I see in your child’s face when she gets it.
  • I am sorry that I did not share how your child lights up when…
  • I am sorry that I did not thank you for sharing your child with me this year.
  • I am sorry that I did not ask you more questions about your child.
  • I am sorry that I did not talk to you like you were an equal partner in your child’s learning.

To the parents of my future students, I will try my best to let you know that I care deeply about your child.  I know as I continue this journey as a parent/educator, I will have many more enlightening experiences.

Note: This is not meant as a commentary on my child’s teacher.

Leave a Reply

