Random Acts of Kindness Week

Last week was Random Acts of Kindness Week. Read about it here. My school counselor and I both took on this week without consulting with each and it proved to be amazing. Here’s the things I know the school counselor did:

  • She gave every teacher a pet rock on Monday because we rock.  I saw them sitting on so many desk this week.
  • She gave every student a piece of candy first thing in the morning on Wenesday. She told each one that she is glad they are here.  It was so much fun to watch the look of surprise in the students’ faces.
  • She and group of girls made nice notes to stick on lockers to encourage students throughout the school.
  • She place these tearsheets in bathrooms, the parents’ room, and the teacher’s lounge.

4763920680_c5bed67d0a_b You can get your own here. I saw so much joy in her as well as the students and teachers throughout the building.  I can’t wait to see what she thinks up next year.

Here are some of the things that I did:

When covering a class for a teacher, I taught a mini-lesson about kindness.  We talked about how we feel when someone is kind to us and how it feels to be kind to other.  Each student made a plan for kindness during the week.  They recorded it like this: kindness I encouraged students to keep me informed of how their plan was working out.  It was amazing to hear how they were being kind this week.

I also created opportunities for my highest needs kids to spend time doing something kind for the school.  The teachers loved the notes that they wrote and the kind things they did. It was so much fun to watch students reach out to teachers in a kind way.

My favorite thing I did was create opportunities for teachers and staff to celebrate kindness.  Here is the note that I sent out:

This week is Random Acts of Kindness week.  To celebrate this week, I have made hearts with the phrase “A random act of kindness was done in your name.”  These are in a bowl in the lounge.  When you perform an act of kindness this week, grab a heart and give to another staff member to know that kindness happens.  If you want to jot what you did on the back, feel free or leave it blank.  When you receive a heart, post it so others know that kindness is occurring throughout the school.

You should have seen the pink hearts that filled the school.  To me, it seemed that more students and staff were smiling.  That week seemed full of hope even though winter is in full swing.

2 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness Week

Leave a Reply

