The Power of a Thank You!

Today was my school’s first day of Iowa Assessment.  One of the brilliant/challenging thing about Iowa Assessment is that it is norm referenced so every school district can chose when to give it.  Last night, I placed a positive sign on all of the 3rd, 4th and 5th graders’ lockers.  It easily took over an hour, but the students reaction today was priceless.  I enjoyed hearing thank you from so many students.

keep-calm-and-do-your-best-1061

At the end of the day, the number of students who came up to me to thank me for a mixed grade bonus recess out weighed the challenges of such a large group.  It was great to be reminded why I do what I do.

Besides making the students day special, I have taken time this week to do something for  our teachers as well.  Yesterday was Take-off Tuesday.  We provided jet-fuel(coffee) to the staff.  Today was Wet Your Whistle Wednesday-Cold Water after testing.  Tomorrow will be Thousand Dollar Thursday (100 grand candy bars).

Everyone deserves to know that other care about them and want to do nice things for them.  I didn’t do all this for the Thank You’s but they make me want to do it again.

One thought on “The Power of a Thank You!

Leave a Reply

