Day 11: What I am reading…

I love the prompt for today:

What are you reading? Professionally or Personally? And if you aren’t reading right now, why?

So the first thing I need to say that I come from a family of reading.  My parents’ house is full of books.  They read a wide variety of books.  They are willing to take a risk on a book.  I love that when my dad reads and loves a book he will buy it for my siblings and me.

But in the same breath, I have always been a narrow reader.  I tended to read series growing up.  I loved Babysitters Club, Little House on the Prairie, Anne of Green Gables and Sweet Valley Twins.  They are still at my parents’ house waiting for my daughter and nieces to discover.

I am still a narrow reader.  I have only read 2 fiction books in the last 5 years and both were in the last month.  I live in nonfiction.  It seems that no what I read it becomes a Ed book.  Here’s a shot of my night stand:

IMG_6432

If can’t identify all of the books, here’s what was on it:

  • Engaging Students with Poverty in Mind
  • The Boys in the Boat (my dad bought me this)
  • 38 Great Academic Language Builders
  • Building Academic Language
  • New York Magazine
  • Rules
  • My Life and Hard Times
  • Making Thinking Visible
  • Reading in the Wild
  • Top 20 Teachers
  • Joy of the Gospel
  • The Power of Habits

The question you may have is are you reading them all at the same time.  Somewhat.  I have been reviewing sections of some them and others I am reading for the first time.  I can’t read just one book at a time.  Mood determines what I read before I got to bed.  I went to the library today and added a few more to my the collection:

IMG_6435

This quote from Reading in the Wild covers my philosophy “If I didn’t make reading a priority, it would be easy to skip it.”  I do this so one of my hopes for my children(they become adult readers) come true.

2 thoughts on “Day 11: What I am reading…

  1. BethCTech says:

    I like the list of books–I am a passionate fantasy/scifi reader myself. Which non fiction book from your list would you recommend?

    Like

Leave a Reply

