Day 26: Getting out of Dodge

Last week was hard.  I am not going to lie.  At points, I wanted to cry, scream and leave all at the same time, but I didn’t.   Instead, I did a smart thing and left town on Friday night.  I left work early for me, loaded the car and drove to Minneapolis to see family and friends.

By the time the car had passed Iowa City, my school brain had turned off.  The long to-do list disappeared and all that remained was my focus on my kids.  It was wonderful to really be in the moment enjoying my family and friends.  I crammed so much in. The giggles and laughing still fill my head.

Tomorrow, I will return with a renewed sense of drive because of this weekend.

The big take-away is even when it gets busy I need to take the time to stop and recharge. I am better when I am fresh.

This week’s plan for recharging include:

  • Reading for pleasure
  • Early bedtime
  • Outings with each of my kids
  • A long phone call to a Texas friend

What are you going to do to recharge your brain?

2 thoughts on “Day 26: Getting out of Dodge

  1. sjdunlop55 says:

    Megan, this post resonated with me because of my last post on Sacrifice. We can sacrifice too much for our jobs at our expense and then we have nothing left. Such a delicate balance. I’m glad you were able to turn your school brain off for a while.

    Like

Leave a Reply

