Decluttering Excuses

On Friday, I was voxing with my friend, Sean and he said, “I think that there is always an excuse.”   I didn’t think much of it.  I laid out my gym clothes for the following morning.  I wanted to enjoy my favorite classes.  Saturday came and went, I did not go to the gym.  I could give you an excuse about how my daughter woke me up in the middle of the night, the action packed week I had, or just say there is no tired like May teacher tired.  Instead dear readers, I will own that choice.  I chose to stay in bed because it was easier and to me at that point, it was more important to sleep instead of enjoying the gym.

During the day on Saturday, I still thought about that comment and my one word: commit.  Am I committed when I give an excuse of why I can’t?  If it is important enough to say yes to it, then it does not deserve an excuse.  I am reminded that I need to recommit to my word and the work it requires.

Currently, there has been an increased focus on MTSS in my job. These questions also surfaced on Saturday.  How often do we say that all kids can learn, but then we give an excuse why Johnny did not master the objective?  Are we really serious about all students learning at high level or are we just giving it lip service?    I ask these questions because it is time that we own our choices instead of giving an excuse to why this student didn’t learn.  Once we give one excuse, then it allows many more to follow.  Soon, student learning is not a priority and our statement that all students can learn is just decoration.

My challenge to us is to own our choices.  If we chose to respond negatively because it is easier than to respond positively, don’t give an excuse. If you chose to wait until the students leave to pack up your room, own it.

My promise to you, dear readers is to reduce my excuses and create opportunities to do what is important to me.  I will declutter my calendar and my life so I can enjoy this world.  What are you going to do to remove the excuses in your life?

My current resources that are inspiring me:

 

Thanks Sean for planting seeds frequently in my brain.  I promise to nurture and grow these ideas.  You are a true thought partner.

If-it-is-important

One thought on “Decluttering Excuses

Leave a Reply

